Community Foundation Announces 2017 Lilly Scholars

Categories: Press Releases |

Community Foundation Announces

2017 Lilly Scholars

NEW ALBANY, Ind. (December 19, 2016) – Four graduating seniors in Clark and Floyd counties will receive the generous, well-earned gift of four-year scholarships as the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana’s 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

In addition to full tuition to the accredited Indiana college or university of their choice, the students will receive an $900 annual stipend for books and equipment.

Applications from each county were reviewed and scored by an independent committee of civic volunteers who assessed applicants anonymously from a county other than the one in which the committee members lived.

Once the 13 semi-finalists were determined from the 218 applicants this year, each was individually interviewed, according to Crystal Gunther, director of community philanthropy for the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana. The four finalists were then selected and the locally selected names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for final approval. ICI is a non-profit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited, degree-granting, non-profit private colleges and universities in Indiana.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment Inc. initiative to help Indiana students reach higher levels of education. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

Locally, students in all accredited public and private high schools in Clark and Floyd counties were invited to apply.

“Congratulations to the all of the finalists and thank you to Lilly Endowment, Inc. who has been incredibly supportive of our foundation and this community,” Gunther said. “Because of their generosity we are able to provide these life changing, four-year scholarships to deserving students in Clark and Floyd counties who will go on to pursue their education and achieve their goals.”

In addition to selecting the recipients, alternates were selected in each county in the event that the chosen recipients select a college outside of Indiana or a course of study other than a bachelor’s degree, or receive a scholarship that supersedes the Lilly honor. Lilly recipients must declare his or her college choice and course of study by May 1, 2017.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Clark County

Elizabeth Bishop, Jeffersonville High School         

Catianne Troncin, Rock Creek Community Academy

Floyd County

Juston Betz, Our Lady of Providence High School        

Kayla Taff,  Floyd Central High School